Contrast issue

Firelance

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi

Sometimes I really have a problem with the contrast of my photos, or it's too gray, or my black isn't black enough..

I doubt it has something to do with my camera configuration; sometimes I put my Minolta on Automatic, sometimes I mesure the light from the ground,...
But if there's something that I should really keep in the back of my mind to control the contrast, please tell me, I find it quite difficult...

I always use the time that stands in the inside of the film box when developing: first minute constant agitation, then each 30 secs... Should I develop longer to gain contrast?

And when enlarging my pictures, I always have to use filter #2, 3 or higher, I've never used lower than 2 before...

Can someone help me?

Thanks

Filter 2 in multigrade is normal - that is the one you are supposed to use.
Developing your film for longer just increases negative density and grain size with little or no gain in contrast.
There are many variables in film photography that can affect contrast. Most of them are:
Lighting
Film
Camera lens
Developer
Enlarging lens
Enlarging paper
Paper developer
Dev temperature

The main aspect of the technical side of photography is learning how all these interact and how to control them to get an optimum print.
Persevere. And read the right books.

(and we'll help where we can)

Firelance said:
Sometimes I really have a problem with the contrast of my photos, or it's too gray, or my black isn't black enough.

As Hertz said, there are a lot of things that could be affecting your contrast.

If your photos are consistantly low contrast you might try increasing the amount of agitation.

To increase contrast you can underexpose and overdevelop.

Inability to get good blacks can mean the developer is becoming exhausted.

Check out these books by Henry Horenstein. They are pretty easy to read.

Black and White Photography: A Basic Manual
Beyond Basic Photography: A Technical Manual