Copyright Law Questions

robb01

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm starting a new series of photographs where I will be taking an old photo or postcard of a building in town. Then taking a photo of the same building, and merging aspects of the old and new together.

My question to copyright is, who would own the copyright of a historic postcard or photo? The photo part is easier, but I have a bunch of old city postcards that I would like to scan in and use for this project, but am unsure of how to obtain permission to use them, or even if I need it. Thanks

I'm no lawyer, but I'd say that yes, that would be a copyright violation.

Well, from further reading anything published before 1923 would be in the public domain. The postcards in question are all over 100 yrs old

I thought that photos were copyrighted for 100 years after the death of the photographer.

I thought that photos were copyrighted for 100 years after the death of the photographer.
It's my understanding that in Canada, it's for 50 years after the copyright owner's death. Here in the US, it's for 70 years. It is longer if the copyright is owned by a corporation.

robb01 is correct that here in the US, anything copyrighted prior to 1923 is now in the public domain and is free game.

Edit: and thanks for that link robb01.

Last edited:
I don't think so. See Circular 15A http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ15a.pdf

Effect of 1976 Act on Length of Subsisting Copyrights