Cows - Lighting/Camera Setting Suggestions Needed

Nevermore1

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I spent a little bit of time at my husbands Grandparents today at took some pictures of their cows in the barn. I know the composition sucks as I was working in a very small limited space (about 3x4 ft area to move around in) with my two little ones constantly trying to feed and pet the cows. I wasn't sure what settings to use so I just set some random ones and started shooting. My question is what would have been a good setting to use for the conditions? I was in the barn where it was shaded/dark (no lights) and the cows were outside sticking their heads in. I did not want to use the flash as they are very skittish and startled easily when they heard my keys move. I would have preferred to get them outside but of course whenever I go over there they are unwilling to cooperate. I am still learning my camera since I haven't had much time to go out and use it due to time constraints and the wonderful weather we've been having (and still learning about composition, exposure, lighting, etc - been doing lots of reading but haven't been able to practice much).

Also, I edited on my crappy laptop monitor so the coloring and what not is probably off. I'm currently saving up to get an external monitor for editing purposes. I'm also not sure if I compressed them properly for here (they look a little grainy to me), the files are also on my Flickr page along with my other awful photos. Thanks in advance.
$BlackCow_1.jpg

$BlackCow_3.jpg

$BlackWhiteCow_1.jpg

$BlackWhiteCow_2.jpg

$Cows_1.jpg

A couple things to get started

1. you're saving your shots huge and at a lower resolution
2. Watch your highlights. Expose for the highlights and bring up the shadows in post
3. They seem slightly over exposed

Fun shots. Something different for a change.