Critical Analysis

John Sampson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.kerahdah.com.na
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've become a member of another 'photo community as well, and they also have a gallery section, on which members can post their work for viewing and for comment. There has been some rather strong reaction to some of my comments on work that is pathetically poor. I do not actually say so, but indicate that the work should not have been submitted, but the creator of the image wants to know why I hold such an opinion.
I don't want to get personal, nor do I want to insult anyone, but to explain why the work just is not good means possibly offending someone who has a high opinion about very bad work.
What do the members on this site feel about criticism? I come from an academic background, I've been producing work in the art sector for 63 years, I own my own gallery, and deal with clients who spend lots of money buying art, and photography is one of the art forms that I manage. Some of my artists are successful international photographers who have produced prize-winning books, and who have exhibited at the highest level, and in the best galleries in the world. I have had 60 exhibitions internationally myself. I am presently exhibiting my work in a Parliament building in Germany, on invitation. I work in painting, photography, sculpture and installations. I have represented my country at international events, been involved at local, provincial and national level, and have my work in the collections of a few rather prestigous collectors.
Would you consider me competent enough to express an opinion on the disciplines that I am qualified in, or does expertise and experience not count? It seems that some young photographers with little experience do not subject their work to any kind of scrutiny by anyone besides themselves, and that leads to situations where honest professional feedback is not appreciated.