Critique please?

Emmy7

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm really not a professional but I hope to pursue photography as a career in my future... with lots of practice of course. Would you please help me and critique a few of my photos? I will post some better pictures later
Thank you!

1. $image-1413780365.jpg

2. $image-2481522346.jpg

3. $image-4155552032.jpg

4. $image-3291014967.jpg

5. $image-1701474033.jpg

6. $image-2167668630.jpg

7. $image-1514356335.jpg

8. $image-540525843.jpg

P.s sorry if I posted this in the wrong section!

Come on! I need some help ;)

# 1 & 4 are both underexposed and overexposed, but I believe I can see what you were trying to do. Unfortunately im not that good to be able to critique how to fix it. Though, I know others will be.

#2 Isn't too bad, but could use some contrast and/or level adjustment. And I would clone out that little bit of twig sticking out from the leaf.

#3 is a nice shot, but underexposed and the crop feels a little too tight on top and to the left side. Also would clone the bottom left black.

#4 same could be said for it as #2 minus the twig comment.

#5 I like as is.

#6 Is nice, but feels a little too much like a snapshot to me, I don't know why.

#7 Looks flat to my eyes. Maybe because of the green on green colors with it.

All are good shots though. Could just use a little bit of adjustments either with the shots themselves or with PP.

Thank you! I just got photoshop so I'm still playing around and haven't had time to try it out with these photos. You were a big help!

You're welcome. My suggestions are just that, suggestions. Take them or leave them as I am just a beginner myself and nowhere near as good as that majority of the members here.

A tip when photographing animals close like that (or of peoples faces), put the focus on the eyes. If you look at your photo of the dog, you can see the focus is on the nose as the eyes look a little soft in compassion. :)