Cruise / Wedding: RAW + JPG?

kelkin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new to DSLR photography and picked up a Nikon D7200 kit from Costco which came with a 18-55mm and 55-300mm lens, I just ordered a 35mm f/1.8G as well based on various posts I've read which indicate it would be better to use a prime for the various portrait shots I want to take. I purchased a 256GB high speed SD card so I can take video of our ceremony and plan on using a tripod for selfie shots since the ships photographer won't go off the ship with the wedding photography packages they offer. In the end I plan on taking the best of the ships pictures, my pictures, and make a few wedding albums for our family and blow up a few shots as gifts for the family.

I want the most flexibility as possible, I want to be able to provide pics to the family during the cruise and view them easily but also want the ability to play with the raw files later should I feel like there's a benefit. Is there any reason not to do raw plus jpg that a noob like me isn't aware of? I'm thinking of buying a few lesser expensive SD cards to accommodate that since I'm thinking speed won't be as important for the photos as the video.... am I thinking wrong here? Any tips?
Thanks!

There is no reason whatsoever NOT to shoot RAW+JPG unless storage becomes an issue.

Thanks,
I figured as much but wanted to ask the experts. So I spent the bucks on a Sandisk Extreme Pro 256GB for the video like I mentioned, I want to make sure I have enough SD cards to hold me each day until I can get back to the room and back them up. Is there any reason why I shouldn't use a PNY Elite performance SD card for RAW + JPG shooting? It looks like it costs and performs about 40% less than the Sandisk Extreme Pro, but since I don't intend on taking many burst photos if at all, I'm wondering if then slower PNY speed will suffice?

-Keith

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk