D5100 shutter speed / aperture setting problem - PLEASE HELP ASAP

bmkitche

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I have been using my Nikon D5100 for about 5 years in manual with no issue. Today it seems to be malfunctioning. When I try to change the shutter speed or aperture using the dial, nothing happens (this occurs in manual, as well as all of the priority modes if that gives any more information). Every once in a while, the shutter speed or f stop will flicker for a split second as if they want to change, but always revert back to the original. Yesterday I had the same issue, and it was resolved by switching lenses, and then switching back, but today nothing works. This occurs both with my AF S Nikkor 35mm 1-1.8G, as well as the AF-S Nikkor 55-300mm 1 4.5-5.6GED. If I put the camera in Auto, the camera has no problems adjusting the shutter speed or aperture automatically. Similarly, in priority modes, the non-priority setting can be adjusted automatically by the camera.

I have attached a video below that demonstrates the symptoms.

We are in Italy on vacation and really can't afford to be without our camera until we get back to the States to take it to a shop. Please advise how we might be able to solve the problem ourselves. Any help will be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Is it defiantly the the actual camera mechanisms or might it just be a issue with a with the screen read out. Is the light meter in the viewfinder registering the changes. Does turning it off and back on do anything. Are the points of the camera or lens dirty. Can you change the settings whilst there is no lens attached. I really don't know what the problem is but there the things I would check.

Not sure how it's done on d5100, but I'd try full reset. Maybe taking batteries out for few minutes and back in then might work also

The Menu and i button are marked with a green dot.