Dealing with focus issue...

deedubss123

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been a photographer for two years and just recently, wondering why my photos aren't tack sharp with my specific lens. Its 24-70 2.8 Canon. I shoot with a Canon Mark IV.

This photo was taken this past weekend of a large group and I feel like the image isnt tack sharp. It seems very soft and almost noisy to me. What could I possibly be doing wrong for it to be like this? I was standing about 5 feet from the group.

Using my 24-70 2.8 lens - I was at 33mm, F/5.6 , 1/320 ISO 800 - I was standing probably 5 feet in front of them. How come the image seems soft. Is it b/c of my meter or AF points? I focused on boy in front, assuming focus would fall behind and hit everyone else, correct? Any veterans have advice?

SOOC

Attachments

• IMG_0038.resize1.jpg
    IMG_0038.resize1.jpg
    540.1 KB · Views: 186
What type of focus are you using? You should be using single-point focus if you're not already.

It's kind of hard to tell at the size you've uploaded, which looks decently sharp.
You need to upload a crop of a section of it that is showing your sharpness whilst the image is at full size (a 100% crop). That way we can see what you're seeing fullsize; as opposed to a resized version for the net

On my phone. It looks like high ISO a d not focus. And Five feet at 33mm????That is a horrible distance and focal length for a group photo, guaranteed to cause foteshortening.looking at the photo I would say that your estimate of your distance is incorrect.