definition and resolution. What is the difference?

DinoThePhotoGuy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a noob keep that in mind before you freak out with my question.

In what context?
Input resolution or output resolution.

Image resolution? Lens resolution? Image sensor resolution? Print resolution? New Years resolution?

I think of the word definition in artistic rather than technical terms for photography.

The Internet is a remarkable resource.
A benefit of using internet search engines is that we frequently encounter information we didn't know we would want to know.
So looking to others to answer your questions can prevent you from the serendipity of stumbling upon pertinent and related information you didn't know you don't know.

Last edited:
Talking about digital image then:
Definition related to the total number of pixels
Resolution related to the number of pixels per unit of area.

Talking about digital image then:
Definition related to the total number of pixels
Resolution related to the number of pixels per unit of area.

Pixels do not create the image.

The resolution of the lens image (projected by lens onto the camera sensor) creates and defines the resolution of the image, defining the details in the image, or resolvable line pairs per mm, so to speak.

The digital pixels merely attempt to reproduce that analog image digitally. Pixels can never add more detail to the lens image, but the hope is for a reasonably sufficient reproduction of it.

People lament that excessive megapixels might exceed the lens image resolution, however the only alternative is less pixels which is insufficient pixels to reproduce it as well as possible. The rule of thumb (Nyquist) is that digital resolution must be at least twice the resolution of the analog detail it tries to reproduce.