Delay purchase of D90

coreduo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am an amateur beginner photographer. I had been musing on buying a Nikon D90 'for the advanced'. I have a Nikon D40X. But as I read those books on photography like for example, Ansel Adams THE NEGATIVE and THE PRINT and so many many more educational books like wedding, pet, landscape photography, I felt that I have to learn more from these authors. So I am need not be in a hurry to buy expensive cameras suited for the advanced until I leave the beginner's class.(as advice from a professional photographer. Besides, prices might go down in the future because of stiff competition. At present, I have been enjoying reading every book I can get hold of. I just love photography!

Last edited:
Are you asking or just making a statement?

I'm confused :)

All cameras do essentially the same thing...

Control Aperture
Control Shutter Speed
Control ISO

Other than that there are additional features you may or may not use depending on what your needs are. More 'advanced' cameras might have better sensors, more options and more control but as long as you understand the basics of photography there's really nothing getting in your way.

I think the biggest difference you'll notice is more direct input instead of having to go through menus to change settings.

Last edited:
Well, to be honest Canon has no competition.

:D

At present, I have been enjoying reading every book I can get hold of.
Don't forget to go out and shoot something once in awhile.

If the D40x is doing what you want it to do then just keep using it. But if you're starting to feel like it's not doing what you want it to do, then it's time to upgrade.

You're the only one who will know when it's time for you to move up.

If you are looking for some new toys, glass is the way to go. You will go farther with better glass then you will with a better body and stock glass.