Denoise AI

ClintLloyd

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
With the advancements in AI denoise and for those who use it, how do you feel about noise in general compared to the way you felt only a handful of years ago before this type of software was available?

Obviously within reason, but is sensor noise mostly a concern of the past now?

With the advancements in AI denoise and for those who use it, how do you feel about noise in general compared to the way you felt only a handful of years ago before this type of software was available?

Obviously within reason, but is sensor noise mostly a concern of the past now?
Yes, it's a non-issue as long as you save and process raw files. Decent noise filtering remains too processor intensive for SOOC JPEGs -- so still an issue there.

I have been using Luminar 4 for a few years and its good enough for me....

Yes, it's a non-issue as long as you save and process raw files. Decent noise filtering remains too processor intensive for SOOC JPEGs -- so still an issue there.

Are you shooting predominantly in JPEG? I just assumed that most people here would be shooting almost entirely in RAW.

Are you shooting predominantly in JPEG? I just assumed that most people here would be shooting almost entirely in RAW.
No, and noise isn't generally a problem for me -- I'm usually able to expose enough to avoid it. I just tend to keep up with the tech.

Here's some fun. It's a demo I shot for my class to address the cause of noise. It's an APS sensor with the ISO set at 25K and just the default noise setting in C1: ISO 25K

Noise is not a total thing of the past, but it is much less of a 'thing' than it used to be.

That turned out alright!