Didn't think that would happen

Landscapenut185

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
hello everyone,

So I have a book of pints that I have for my favorite pictures, and am in no way a professional by any means. So I let a friend borrow my sd card so he could get some pictures off of it for a background for his computer.

Well this morning I receive a call from the small company that he works for wanting to use some of my photos as covers for the companies handbook. Asking me how much I want for them. And that they would like to hire me for company advertising.

I honestly have no clue heck I'm a new photographer myself and had no thoughts of selling prints or much less working in the industry. I'm comfortable with my camera and shoot in manual and raw settings and I'm good with post processing. But I'm still learning.

I explained that I have not been doing it that long and they insist my pictures look professional and they like my work. I don't even have a website.

Honestly I don't know what to charge for the pictures any advice would be great.

And wouldn't I need a business license to take photos for the company on a regular basis?

In a situation like this, I would suggest asking them what they're willing to pay, and then 'upping' their initial offer by 10-15%; if you're happy with that figure, go for it. You don't list a location in your profile, so we can't say what you need in terms of licenses, etc, but you will almost certainly need a business license from your local municipal office, you will probably need to collect sales tax of some sort, and you should have insurance.