Digital Battery Question

BLS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new to digital cameras and have a questions about batteries.

My camera came with a rechargable battery (guess most of them do). Can I hurt the battery if I leave it in the charger for a long time after it's fully charged?

Couldn't find anything in the manual about this, and I know that sooner or later I'll forget about the battery being in the charger. So I thought maybe someone here could help me.

Hey there,

I'm not sure which camera you're using but, I have a D70, and once my battery is fully charged, it turns off the charger automatically.

If you have a full charge indicator, and its been on over the full charge, see if the batter feels warm to the touch. If it is warm still after a fairly good amount of time, (maybe 30-40 minutes) its most likely was still charging after the full charge was given. If its cool, it probably turns off the charger automatically.

hope that makes sense.

*edit I guess doxx told ya the same thing. Didnt see his post.

As far as my grandpa told me you have to leave them in the charger whenever not in use because they lose the charge, get weak and stop working. I'm not sure if mine turns off or not. I know the light goes off when it finishes charging and if I take the battery out, and out it back in the light goes back on and starts charging again. So I assume mine turns off. Either way, I would leave it in the charger.

P.s. Are they alkaline? Those ones suck :)

I believe the 300D uses the same battery (BP-511) and charger as the 10D and the charger will terminate charging once the battery is charged.
So, although not recommended, it wouldn't do any harm to forget and leave a battery on charge.
BTW, I suggest you check out these guys for spare batteries: http://www.sterlingtek.com/digital-camera-batteries-canon-digital-camera-batteries.html
I bought a couple of their BP-511's for use in my 10D and they work fine.
HTH