Digital photography retail profit ?

dxqcanada

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I worked in the photographic retail industry many years ago.
We worked on the idea that if we can sell a camera to a customer that they will come back continously to purchase film and get photofinishing.

Our profit margins on the camera hardware was extremely minimal and we made our money on the film and photofinishing.

I was thinking about the Digital photo industry ... and there is no film (yes there are storage cards but these are not one time use) or people have their own printing methods.

I am assuming profit margins are the Camera hardware have been set a lot higher now to compensate ?

From talking with the employees at my local pro camera shop, a lot of these companies are still making nice profits in photo refinishing. The company I'm talking about has 6-8 locations and a strong web presence.

I'm not sure of the profit margins on digital equipment but photographers, Pro and hobbyists, upgrade a lot sooner now than they did 10 years ago.

A lot of the consumer labs seem to be doing poorly these days. People used to buy film and then pay for processing and prints...which was pretty lucrative. Now, it seems that very few people print their image. It's more likely that they go onto the computer and get shared on Facebook or Myspace etc. Heck, I know several people who have digital cameras and no computer at all...they just look at the images on the camera's screen.

I know that some companies have been trying hard to get people to print their images and use their disposable products. This is one reason they have small photo printers and several that can print directly from the camera. It seems to be a loosing battle though.