DIY Beauty Dish?

AaronLLockhart

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys,

I've been using a studio light setup for a while now, with softboxes, umbrellas, reflectors, barn doors, ect. I'm proceeding forward in an attempt to play with shooting with a beauty dish. I have no experience in the department. However, everywhere I have seen, for a decent beauty dish, I'm looking to spend over $140.00. However, I come from a mechanically inclined background, having tons of experience in carpentry and automotive fabrication. With this said, it looks as if I can just create one of these things for little to nothing. So, does anyone know of a place I can get some info on the materials needed, even maybe a tutorial to see the direction someone else has taken in doing it? I would like to do one for my B800's, as well as build one to use with my SB-900.

Any info is appreciated.

There are a ton of on-line YouTube tutorials (search "Beauty Dish YouTube" or "DIY Beauty Dish YouTube" or similar). For around $100 you can buy this Cameron unit, which I have in my "portable" bag. It's on the small side, but it does work well for, and will fit pretty much any speedlight on the market.

Basically, you need a "bowl" or "dish", and then a "deflector" and some way to hold the deflector in place in reasonable proximity to the flash tube. Most factory dishes use three small metal supports around 3 to 3.5 inches long, to hold the flash deflector in position....basically, the three arms are screwed or soldered onto the deflector, and then the supports are pop-riveted to the dish. The deflector can also be held on using long, small-diameter bolts and washers and nuts, or hollow tubes and wired on using a simple harness and a few holes drilled into the dish.