Do you advocate a 50mm lens?

babbupandey

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I recently got a D90 for me along with 18-105 kit lens and 55-200 telephoto zoom.
However, I am also thinking of buying a 50mm standard lens with f/1.4
What do you all recommend, should I buy that lens (around $250) or wait and buy a better lens like f/1.2 - or can I miss buying a 50mm altogether.
I am an amateur, into general photography, occasional wildlife, occasional landscape and occasional sports (lol)

Go out and buy a 50mm 1.8D for 100$.

Can't wait until I get mine.

edit: That is, If you need a new lens. For now just play around with your 18-105 and 55-200. Why do you want a 50mm? If you can think about why you need it then go for it.

^^ Same as above. I am hoping to get one for my bday, because i need the low-light performace, the ability to create a shallow dof, and a good portrait lens.

The reason I want to buy this lens is because people say that you learn your photography with standard lenses only.

You can learn photography by reading, seeking advice from pro's, and taking lots of pictures! Yes film and a prime might make you think more about composition but you don't have to have that to learn photography. Use what you have now and if you find that you need a faster lens, i.e. 1.4-1.8 then pick up that 50mm. GL
TJ

The reason I want to buy this lens is because people say that you learn your photography with standard lenses only.

My advice to you is to veer away from most advice that is absolute. There are many ways to do things and there's a lot of religion in photography.

A 50mm 1.8 is an exceptional lens for relatively low money and it will force you to learn how to deal with situations where you have to "zoom with your feet", and there is unquestionably value in that...

...it is, however, no more "required" than learning how to focus manually, work without a light meter, or walk 12 miles to market to sell the family cow.