Does being near the beach damage camera lens?

Alter_Ego

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I heard that being near the beach can damage the camera lens? Apparently salt in the air can get inside or something. Is it true?

I'm going to go with yes.

Be very careful with cleaning your lens as well.

Im not a pro on this subject, but I think its a little paranoid to think that way. Id be more scared of the sand than the ''salt in the air''.

Just my 2 cents !

There is a reason you never buy a used car from a northern state, or from a sea side area.
Granted cars take a lot more abuse from the elements however a camera and lens would too. Every time you go to switch lenses on a windy day you run a risk of salt/sand blowing into your camera.
I know I wouldn't trust a humid day in eastern North Carolina with my camera, you can taste the salt in the air.

Im not a pro on this subject, but I think its a little paranoid to think that way.

I tend to agree. I live on the coast and so every photo I take that is not indoors is in some degree of salty air. Often I can smell the salt in the air, it is so thick. I think that saying that salt in the air wrecks lenses would somewhat like saying that buying an SLR is a waste of money if you live on the coast unless you are only going to shoot indoor photos.

I would understand the concern about getting salty air in your lens. But I was under the assumption that lenses were vacuum sealed. And if this is the case I would not worry. But then again I am far from being an expert.

but arent most decent cameras weatherproofed? i assumed this would prevent salt spray etc from getting in and damaging the electronics (obviously changing lenses is a different story). and since most decent slr's are made non corrosive metals (magnesium for my canon 30d) and not steel like most cars thats not really a fair comparison.