Does this sound like a good beginner wish list.

p2porkchop

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to photography, but I've always been interested with it and now I have the funds available to finally go out and buy some equipment. I feel like I have a good understanding of mostly everything.. but I've never shot either.. sooo Heres what I have so far.

Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens - 25454 - WolfCamera.com

Nikon 50 mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens - 2137 - WolfCamera.com

Is the body too much for a beginner? Anybody have pros / cons with the body? Or what lense(s) would you reccommend? Any other accesories to go with it (other than the neccesities)?

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks.

i dont have it, but i dont think i would get a D5000 based on some of the comments here. do a search for D5000 and you'll find some good discussions.
if you can stretch your budget, think about a D90...those that have them love them.
again...i dont have it, but it gets lots of good reviews.

someone will chime in soon with some real solid advice.

get on that search though...you'll def find some info that way.

welcome to TDF by the way :D

*edit*
also check adorama...their prices are great.

I would avoid the D5000 for now. It's brand new and has been hit with two recalls already. If you do go with a D5000, be sure to get one made sometime after July of this year to avoid having to send it in for service.

also, the 50mm f1.8 won't autofocus on the d5000

Aside from the D90/D5000 thing (and yes, get the D90...), it's a pretty standard kit you have there, which is fine. It will give you a reasonable range to work with. Personally for a starter, I like the 18-135 better, but 18-55 will be fine.

I'd spend the extra $150 and get the D90 instead. It's less limiting than the D5000. Plus, like mentioned, the D5000 has been through some recalls.