Eventer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.michelleclarke.co.nz
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi team,
I came across photographer Portfolio | Alicja Zmysłowska Fotograf Psów | Fotografia Psów
And I'm absolutely mesmerized by her dog photos!
One question - how?! I'm aware they are fairly post processed but how do the eyes always look so stunning?
What lenses do you think she works with? Any insight or ideas to taking photos like this or taking dog photos in general would be great
I'm a full time Vet Nurse and Id love to try my hand at a bit of outdoor pet portraiture - and always have plenty of dogs to work with which is a bonus!

Hi team,
I came across photographer Portfolio | Alicja Zmysłowska Fotograf Psów | Fotografia Psów
And I'm absolutely mesmerized by her dog photos!
One question - how?! I'm aware they are fairly post processed but how do the eyes always look so stunning?
What lenses do you think she works with? Any insight or ideas to taking photos like this or taking dog photos in general would be great
I'm a full time Vet Nurse and Id love to try my hand at a bit of outdoor pet portraiture - and always have plenty of dogs to work with which is a bonus!

Those are pretty cool. From the exif info of the files on their site it looks like they are shooting with a Canon 7D

70-200 f4 (for action / obstacle course)
85 f1.8
50 f1.8

Most of her shots are either wide open aperture or very close to it :)

Just as with people, pet portraits work better with the medium to longer focal lengths. As for the eyes, it's all about light. Typically a diffused flash is used as fill to light the eyes. A direct flash will give a steel eyed glow to the eyes which you don't want.