Don't go easy on me

Krawler

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay a bit of back story first.
For the last few years my subjects have been out in the bright daylight and most of the time requiring a fast shutter speed. Things like 4wheelers, jeeps, race buggies, and race UTVs. Using ISO 100 to 200 along with something around F8 is common to get the shutter speeds I want. I tend to use shutter priority a lot.

Well I decided to get a Canon 50mm 1.4 and try something new. Today being Easter and all I decided to give it a go. Well it ended up raining so we did easter inside and I only made around 30 exposures or so since I am a natural light photographer. ..... (just kidding I don't have a clue how to make a photo look like I want with a flash, as a matter of fact I haven't even looked into it yet)

Okay now to the photo I have questions about.
IMG_2136_zps3496c439.jpg

Shot handheld at f 1.8 ISO 400 and 1/50

Did I just shoot with to slow of a shutter speed and got camera shake?
Missed the focus some how?
Was shooting at f1.8 a horrible idea and gave me a soft photo?
Maybe I fudged it up in post?
Or is it a combination of everything?

Feel free to speak up about everything you see wrong with this photo. I am hard on myself so no one is going to hurt my feelings.

A few last things. Just out of frame to the right was bright window and to the left was a groupe of people in the crouded house. They are expected and are 3 months along so I had them pose in a way that would be easy to recreate as I see them every few weeks. That being said I am open to ideas to how this could have been better composed.

Last edited:
I prefer shooting in manual mode. More control.