Doubling speedlights = doubling power??

RockstarPhotography

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've always shot with 2 speedlights on my stand. Mostly so I can crank the power down and still get fast recycle times and longer battery life. I've never really had the need for large amounts of power. I'm looking at doing a shoot where I may need to start overpowering the sun. To me it makes sense if you double up speedlights, you would effectively double the power, If you triple them, you would triple it. Is there something I'm missing though? I'm no scientist, but that seems logical. I'm asking because if i can't get the power I need from at least 4 speedlights i may have to look into renting a strobe.

Yeah... double the flash, double the power.

If you add a 2nd flash you will get 1 stop more light (if both fire at full power). To get 2 stops of additional light from a single flash, you would need to go to 4 flash units (at full power).

One thing about using double flashes is if they are not firing at full power, say each at 1/2, you do get the same result as 1 flash at max. But they will recycle quicker since they did not have to fire full power. But just like any exposure setting. To get more light you have to double the previous (for a full stop of additional light). So it would be 1 light, 2 lights, 4 lights, etc. Each step up in quantity of lights gets you another stop of light.

so if the gn on my flashes is 38. If i fire 4 of them do you think that would be enough to overpower the sun or should i go rent a strobe?

so if the gn on my flashes is 38. If i fire 4 of them do you think that would be enough to overpower the sun or should i go rent a strobe?

Deppends on distance. Closer you are the stronger they are. Not sure if you mean sun in the background, so your wanting to make sure you have enough fill flash?