Dry Mounting Problem

wcrankshaw

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
so i'm new to dry mounting and i've read a lot about doing it at home with an iron, etc. i bought a piece of mat and the tissue which was handed to me by the sales person at my university bookstore. the tissue is weird...two ply. one sheet is like wax paper and the other has spatters of tacky material. i've tried a lot of options but can't figure out any way to make it work. is this the wrong tissue, or am i just doing it wrong? any help would be great. thanks.

Dry mount tissue is heat activated glue.
The tissue, cut to print size, is normally tacked onto the back of the fibre based print and the print tacked in place on the mounting board (by means of a 'tacking iron'). The whole thing is put into a dry mounting press (a press with two big flat surfaces, one of which is heated) with silicon release paper on top of the print. The glue melts, bonding the print to the card.
Without seeing the stuff you have been given I can't tell you if it is the right stuff. The waxy sheet could be the silicon release paper, but again I can't say for sure.
Dry mount tissue has to get rather hot to work so do not try it on RC paper - the paper will melt. Dry mount spray works fine.
The silicon release paper is used to stop the glue sticking to the hot metal surfaces.
It can be done at home with an iron but only with smallish prints. And it is easy to ruin the iron.

This link might help.
http://www.itg.uiuc.edu/help/drymounting/

i'm using FB prints i've made, and they're 5x7 so the iron thing should really be an issue. the paper is just weird. sticky side is facing in with a sheet of non sticky on top. i guess i'll just have to check out the other tissue options.