Dslr or slr... hmm

lasershot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, first let me say hi!

Anyways, I'm a newbie to photography who wants to jump on the train of this hobby. I can't decide though which type of camera to buy, digtial or film!

I was considering film because the cameras cost a lot less, but then I thought about the long run where I would be buying all that film. So Now I thought about digtial where I could buy a nice camera and finically not have to pay as much in the long run...

So what do the guys and girls at TPF say?

Either way, the lenses will be the biggest investment. Even in the super expensive digital meduim, lenses can cost more than your camera. I'd go digital just because of the convenience of not having to go and get things developed (unless you own a darkroom). And not having to buy film. Also instantly seeing your image in the rear LCD so when in manual, you can keep tweaking the shutter and aperture settings for the same picture, till eventually you learn what to for any situation. It can be a great learning tool for instant improvement.

Ya, I had looked at several brands lenses, very expensive lol

Any recommendations on a good camera for dslr?

Some more popular cameras

Pentax- k110D/ K100D/ K10D
Canon- 350D/ 400D/ 20D/ 30D/ too expensive beyond that
Nikon- D40/ D40x/ D50/ D70/ D70s/ D80/ too expensive beyond this
Sony- Alpha A100X (2 new models coming soon)

I listed Pentax first because the lens selection is hugely vast, their kit lenses are said to be superb (smooth like the good ole day, and don't feel cheap), and they are relatively cheaper than other SLR manufacturers.

Then I'd look into the Sony because it has a ton of bell and whistles for a body. Lens compatibility is very good from what I hear, and later on she could splurge on some Ziess glass.