Ducks decoying.

krimmie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been trying to shots of decoying ducks and finally got one where you can tell they are ducks! I know the focus isn't great...exposure wasn't right either...but I was standing in 3 feet of water and mud, and felt lucky to get the shot off. I do hunt ducks, but I am more and more shooting them with the camera. I'm new to this, so any tips on settings would be appreciated. I used the Sports programed mode on my Olympus E-410 with the packaged 40-150mm lens.

tealcrop.jpg

Last edited:
I do hunt ducks, but I am more and more shooting them with the camera.

you'd be amazed at the number of people that end up making that same transition :)

As for the shot some comments:

1) your certainly going about things the right way - getting low down with the birds. With wildilfe its often best to try and shoot as close to or lower than their persepective - a low down shot is a sight that most people don't see (since we tend to watch whilst standing) and so makes for a more interesting shot

2) I tend to find that shooting in the daytime with a clear sky and bright sun that its best to use exposure compensation to underexpose the shot (set it to a negative value up to -1 should be fine) and thus preserve the highlights from blowing out -whites are always a pain though.

2) mode and settings wise I would recomend looking at aperture priority and shutter priority. Each of those modes will let you set the setting for the priority in that mode as well as the ISO, whilst the other setting is auto set by the camera to fit the meter (which will also respond to exposure compensation). The advantage is that these modes will respond to lighting changes faster than you can which makes them very popular with action and wildlife.