Eight vs. sixteen, how many bits do you need?

bakuretsu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
After writing my fairly well-received histograms article, a few people took me to task on a statement I made about the difference between making tonal changes in 8-bit versus 16-bit. I've lurked in several threads on the topic and it seems to divide many photographers; unnecessarily, I think.

So I opened Photoshop and I started playing around. I have my way of doing things and I wanted to see if it made any sense at all. Turns out, it does. I think this exploration will be helpful for everyone who is looking for their own optimal workflow, so I wrote another article about it.

How Many Bits? Is Eight Enough?

I'll ask everyone here the same question I asked at the end of the article: what are your workflow preferences when it comes to 8-bit vs. 16-bit? If your camera supports RAW and you shoot JPEG, why? (Another debate in and of itself.)

I think the major reason people shoot JPEG is that the camera does some of the post process so it saves time in Photoshop. Personally, it wouldn't save me enough time to worry about it so I shoot everything in RAW.

Well, almost everything. I shoot web product photos in JPEG. I have no post processing at all to do except resize. I can knock them out in less than 30 seconds each in photoshop.

An advantage of RAW shooting, at least for me, is that I can ignore all of those stupid menus and settings in the camera. I'm proud to say I use well less than 10% of the cameras "features."

Mostly 8 bit..... Can't be bothered with the additional stage to convert most of the time.

However if it's an important image that looks to be losing detail in PP then I'd try 16bit. But that's rare indeed.