Entering the 21st century - upgrade EOS300D

Masquerade12000

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi - I entered the Canon family with an A1 (about $1,500) which looked after me for many years. I then bought the 300D when Canon entered the amateur DSLR market (about $1,500). However, while it still works well, it is being out-classed by cameras a fraction of the price and I'm looking to come into today's market. But the choice would seem wide. This time I'm looking at a maximum of about $1,000 for a body and was looking at the 600D or 700D - but what do I get by choosing the 700D?

My usage is recording holidays (mainly landscapes) and week-end trips (sport, pets, etc). I am a keen amateur rather than aiming for pro-am. The quality of images on my A1 are better than 300D (mainly due to resolution) and I'd very much like to go back to the levels I'm used to (e.g. the ability to blow up a 35mm image to "flipchart" size). My 300D is very slow at storing the images onto the memory card - I'd look to significantly improve that, as well as better handling of multiple-shots. I'm less concerned with HD movies.

Any information would be welcomed and I am NOT constrained to the 600D/700D - any ideas would be welcomed. Though I am looking at new buy to keep warranty.

My advise is get the new 70D, it is Canon's new croped sensor camera, its a bit over your budget but worth the investment.
The 700D while new is using an old sensor on it and while its still a resonably good sensor it has been outclassed by most new croped sensor cameras in the market today.
The 70D has a lot of new technology and improved low light performance so I think its the camera you should be getting.