Equipment suggestions?

erika5thmonth

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I use a Canon Rebel EOS T3i. I'm a school photographer and I cover events. I've only been playing around with my co-photographers' camera so I just use their equipment and I'm currently considering in buying my one. I need suggestions with lens and flash. It'll mean a lot if you guys can suggest (and also explain the equipment and it's features.)

Do you have a budget? If you are familiar with the Canon setup, going with Canon may not be a bad idea.

Do you have a budget? If you are familiar with the Canon setup, going with Canon may not be a bad idea.
I'm willing to spend but not THAT much. I'm looking for cheap but efficient equipment. It doesn't need to be too cheap since I plan on looking for second hands anyway.

Why wouldn't the school supply your equipment? Are you working as a free-lance?

I would use the Sigma 18-250mm macro. I've taken thousands of photos with mine and it has never let me down. It's extremely versatile in every situation. Canon makes an enormous range of flashs. I use the 320EX because it has a built in video light. You'll have to read about their features, look at your wallet and decide. If you're on a tight budget I suggest KEH.com for used gear. They usually have a pretty good selection. Hope this helps. Good luck.

I would use the Sigma 18-250mm macro. I've taken thousands of photos with mine and it has never let me down. It's extremely versatile in every situation. Canon makes an enormous range of flashs. I use the 320EX because it has a built in video light. You'll have to read about their features, look at your wallet and decide. If you're on a tight budget I suggest KEH.com for used gear. They usually have a pretty good selection. Hope this helps. Good luck.
Thank you!

Why wouldn't the school supply your equipment? Are you working as a free-lance?