Er... Is this thing going to explode and maim me?

Dubious Drewski

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I need portable power because I'd like to start using my lights on location. Today I bought the Motomaster Eliminator Powerbox 800 and I'm trying it out just now.

I charged it and I tested my lamp and my heater - both work perfectly. Then I plugged in one of my Opus Studio lights. It works. It powers on and functions, but it audibly buzzes. This box's outlets are 120v AC, and that's what these lights require, so what's going on?

Is this dangerous? Am I going to fry these lights?

I used a terrifying 30 year old power pack for a while, it hummed and the lights in the house dimmed when I plugged it in. I used it for a couple of months without any apparent ill effect. I will not speak to the chances that it will wreck your lights-- I imagine it shouldn't but I am NOT an expert.

Well on the back of the lights, it says they require 120V AC at 60hz. But on the powerbox, it doesn't specify at what frequency it's oscillating. Can I assume that it's a mismatched frequency that's causing this? That's probably it, but I wonder how much wear this is incurring on the circuitry in the lights.

I think this is a question for the folks over at the EDABoards.

Ok, I found out that it is indeed outputting at 60Hz, BUT it's not at 120 Volts. It's 115. Would that make that much of a difference?

No. 120V is a nominal value. Most AC power is 115 to 110V.

Drew,

Standard household AC, at least here in America, is 110-115. It's just called 120 a lot, but most usually called 110. Since we get a great deal of electricity from you, it is probably pretty close to the same.

It's very possible that what's going on here is due to the battery circuitry going through a step-up transformer and simulating 60 hertz. One of the most inefficient types of transformers.