Erie Canal and a Barn - C&C please

Destin

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, I'm working on a series of photographs of the Erie Canal to submit to a photo contest by the end of this month. No prize, just doing it for fun to challenge myself with new subject matter. Looking to see what you guys think of these shots. Thanks!

1.) Took this one lastnight. Was planning to shoot a sunset on the canal but didn't make it there in time, so I waited to take a night shot. Spencerport, New York.
Edits-1-XL.jpg

2.) Just before sunrise this morning in Brockport, New York.
Edits-5-XL.jpg

3.) Driving home this morning during golden hour I was looking for an old barn to photograph, and this one stood out to me. I really liked the light, though the photo doesn't completely convey what it really looked like.
Barn-XL.jpg

My first reaction to the canal shots was that they look very "cluttered", but then I have no experience shooting any canals, so I am not sure what constitutes a "good" canal image.

The barn I like, except that there is no sky - it is blown out. Maybe you need one shot as you have it and one for the sky and then merge it in Photoshop - alternatively, a three shot HDR image would probably capture the sky very nicely. To me, skies, where they are present, are an extremely important part of any landscape. In this image, it makes up about half the picture and yet there is no detail in it.

I checked out your first responder's page and it is very nice - great images. I would suggest that you might want to include some "action" shots, where possible, so that folks get some ideas of the conditions that these folks work under.

WesternGuy

My first reaction to the canal shots was that they look very "cluttered", but then I have no experience shooting any canals, so I am not sure what constitutes a "good" canal image.