redbourn

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
best-food.info
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

Maybe I should have posted this on a PhotoShop forum and if "yes" then please just tell me.

Some aspects of the photos may be of interest here though.

I'm not a newbie at PS but am probably not yet at intermediate level either.

I purposely chose this photo that I just shot in the desert because it has numerous problems.

Perspective and/or len's distortion, and I'm not sure that I know exactly if this picture has just one, or both of them.

Bland sky etc etc.

pespective and distortion pictures by redbourn - Photobucket

I still don't fully understand how much I should use exposure when working in RAW before I switch to brighten!

I have looked at lots of tutorials about exposure but none of them explained how far to go before using 'brightness".

Please take a look at the before and after pictures and tell me what I've made worse and what I've made better.

Talking more about the technical aspect and not the artistic one.

Thanks for your feedback,

Michael

Michael,
Photography as well as processing is really a subjective topic. I can show you my stuff and you might totally hate PP on it.
Perspective and/or len's distortion, and I'm not sure that I know exactly if this picture has just one, or both of them.
I think it looks fine.
Bland sky etc etc.
you're retouch is nice - you brought the detail back to the sky.
I still don't fully understand how much I should use exposure when working in RAW before I switch to brighten!
Generally, it's a combination of both factors. One person might have one workflow, another different.
My first step is adjust WB (if needs be), then exposure. Buddy of mine will first recrop/recompose the image and will adjust color and exposure last.
Its just a matter of preference what is more natural to you.