What settings would work out better for me?

giposimo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys,

I have been working as a photographer for nearly two years now, and recently something quite embarrassing happened to me. I met together with another photographer in order to shoot some pictures of each other, so we would both have some new content for our websites etc. When we took the pictures and afterwards compared them to each other, the pictures that were taken with my camera were far from being as good as the pictures taken with her's. I was shooting with my Nikon D850 + Tamron 24-70 2.8, and she was shooting with a Canon 5D + Tamron 24-70 2.8.

From my knowledge the quality of the camera's must be (almost) the same. Which made me conclude that there needs to be something wrong with my settings. Can anyone of you, by seeing the following two pictures, tell me what should I change, before my upcoming shoot this Friday, to come to the same quality of the picture as the ones taken with the Canon 5D?

The brown-haired boy is me, where the picture is taken by the Canon 5D. The other pictures was taken by my Nikon D850

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 2S3A7257 kopie.JPG
    2S3A7257 kopie.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 71
  • DSC_9058.jpeg
    DSC_9058.jpeg
    2.9 MB · Views: 62

What settings would work out better for me?

A most important question but it will not be of any relevance here. Your
approach and understanding, on the other hand, will be.

The greater differences being DR capture and rendition, and highlights
control. On you, nothing is burnt but the picture is tonally too bright for
my taste. On her, the skin of her face and the reflective property of her
pants are burnt and the tonal rendition is too dark.

You offered her nothing to make her job harder but you did not see the
hot spots trap you were heading into.

In such light condition, her or your camera settings have nothing to do