f-stop and zoom

rishi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
f-stop is defined as focal length divided by the diameter of the opening.
When you have a lens with variable focal length (zoom), does the f-stop value change when the focal length is changed? If not, what is the focal length used when numbering the f-stops on the selector?

Not sure what you mean (I'm not that technical) but you see the variable aperture noted on the lens.

for example 70-300 f4.5-5.6. or 17-35f2.8-4

At the wide end the lens is faster (larger aperture) and as it zooms the aperture gets smaller.

70-300 would be f4.5 @ 70mm and f5.6@300mm

Fixed max aperture lenses are generally better

Edit
(read the word fixed as constant) - the aperture is obviously not fixed.

When you have a lens with variable focal length (zoom), does the f-stop value change when the focal length is changed?
Essentially, yes it does. That's why you see zoom lenses with a variable maximum aperture. For example, the Canon 18-55 F3.5-5.6; at 18mm the ratio is equal to F3.5...but when we zoom out (change the focal length to 55mm) the ratio is now equal to F5.6. This is because the aperture diameter does not change...that is it's maximum size.

Higher end zoom lenses have 'constant max apertures'...usually F2.8...that is a funny thing to call it because actually the aperture is not constant but the F-stop ratio is. For this to work, the aperture has to get bigger as the lens is zoomed out.

Rishi;

Your question is not accurately worded. As asked, it cannot be answered.

f stop is indeed the diameter of the diaphragm divided into the focal length. In designing a zoom lens, though, it's easier to include a mechanism which indexes the diaphragm diameter to the fl and adjusts it as the lens is zoomed in or out. Otherwise, you would have a very complicated set of f stop markings to contend with when you wished to set the aperture manually.