Favorite Lens for Wedding Photography

Epiphany

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was just asked by my cousin to photograph her wedding in 1 1/2 weeks from now. I am a beginner and want to try and keep it simple. I don't want to stress myself out any more worrying about fumbling with my camera to get the image I want.

I have a Nikon D7000. I was going to use my 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G lens and was going to invest in a used 85mm 1.4g lens. Are these good choices to use?

I am shooting in auto. The wedding ceremony is in a barn at 3 pm. There is no other lighting than what will come through the open barn doors. I do have a professional digital flash.

Any pointers are greatly appreciated! Please keep it simple.

Thanks!

Sounds like this will be a pretty challenging situation from a shooting perspective, but my recommendation would be to grab your flash and spend the next week or so getting in as much practice with it as you can, sounds like you'll probably need it unless there is a lot more light than what I'm imagining would be available.

If possible see if you can get access to the barn itself and practice there, it will give you a much better feel for what to expect on the big day.

I wouldn't bother buying an 85mm; that's a great lens, and very useful, but only in certain situations. My suggestion would be to RENT a fast lens such as the 17-55 f2.8 or 24-70 f2.8. These will be MUCH more useful, and depending on where you will be able/have to stand, you might also consider renting the 70-200 f2.8, and as the big ape above mentioned, spend every second you can practicing.

Franky my favorite lens is what ever the hired wedding photographer is using to get their shots. Wedding photography is quite complex, hard on the photographer and the equipment. The choice is generally full frame bodies and fast glass along with an assortment of lighting options including studio strobes on tall stands with horizontal strip boxes.