Feedback on my first automotive shoot

Sam K

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I wish I could just delete my account, but I guess the second best thing is to just delete all posts :)

Last edited:
The same advice given for kids and pets apply to cars IMHO, if you want an exciting shot that get emotions from the viewers, get down to the level of the kid-pet-car to take the shot. I'm sorry, I'm gonna go on a limb here and guess you want honest opinion, this is a gorgeous car but this shot is from the least flattering angle I could think of.

Nice car. I have been taking a lot of shots of my car lately for the local club so I have a few comments but, I'm just a hobby photographer so take them for what they're worth:
Agree with taking shots from a lower perspective
Shots of the left side of a car look better IMO with the wheels turned a little to the left.
The Jag is a long, sleek car so if there are other lines in the photo (the parking lines) they should run parallel to the car so they don't intersect the length of the car.
I think you can find a more flattering background. Maybe something with horizontal lines would accentuate the length of the car and set off it's curves a little better.

All that being said, the car looks good. it would be hard to take a bad photo of a car like that :)

This seems to be a consistent theme in c&c requests. In that respect, you are not alone, however, ...

You can't take a photo that ignores all the values of good photography and then apologize for just not doing what it takes to have a good photograph.

Let's set up a little scenario I see as similar to your post.