Fees?

ababysean

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I am just starting out and I need more people and subjects to practice on, but I also need better gear and equipment if I want to grow....

I am shooting for free and I have my first "client" on Thursday evening, an engagement shoot.

I explained I would take the pictures, edit them, and send files that would be able to share in email and on networking websites, such as facebook/myspace, ect. The files will be too small for printing. If they would like a printable image, pricing starts at 10 dollars per sheet. (define a sheet as 1 8*10, 2 5*7, or 4 4*6)

I would also like to put a package pricing plan together, something to encourage them to buy more and save!

example:

Package 1 25 dollars
2 8*10's and 2 5*7

you get the idea....

I am wondering what a good pricing plan is? I don't mind doing the shoots for free, but if the images are good enough they want them printed, I think I should be compensated for my time. This way, if none of the shots come out, nothing is lost, and I can take the experience and try to grow from why it did not work.

The best model I've found.. is to work out what I want to charge in the long run and go from there. Find other photographers offering similar services in your area, and get a feel for their pricing. Then continue that research further and find what photographers regionally charge. That is, if your long term goal is to continue running a buisiness.

Once you have a buisiness model and goal, lay out exactly what you want to make per shoot, and what you'd want your prices to be.