Film Photography???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Canosonic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Until now I was mainly interested in digital photography, though now I am interested in going in to ANALOG. Can anyone point where to start? Website? Literature? Can I use my bathroom for a darkroom?:lol:
TIA

Film, you say? Hang on, let me put my spectacles on and sit down on the chesterfield. I think I set that information on the credenza.

Hi Canosonic. ^^ Ignore useless wisecracks like these. They are borne of ignorance and a narrow view of photography.

You'll get much more help visiting TPF's film photography forums. Everything from general discussion to specific darkroom tips to be found. We also have a complete beginner's guide to B&W photography in the Articles of Interest forum (near the top of the main page). The author is also a member and ready to help.

Millions of people worldwide still use film, so you're hardly alone. ;) Don't sweat it. Just go with what feels right for your photography experience. APUG is a forum devoted entirely to analog.

And yes, a bathroom can actually make a pretty darn good darkroom, btw. :thumbup: Have fun!

It's a facetious comment to illustrate the fact film is rapidly growing into an anachronism. Kodachrome is gone. Other film lines are dwindling. Processing chemicals are getting expensive. Fewer and fewer people are processing and printing.

Yeah, you could probably buy some used stuff real cheap now... even development equipment, but there's a reason why. It's at the very end of the era.

Until now I was mainly interested in digital photography, though now I am interested in going in to ANALOG. Can anyone point where to start? Website? Literature? Can I use my bathroom for a darkroom?:lol:
TIA

Try APUG.org, they are an all-analog site and many people there are dedicated to helping people get started using film. I've got some info on my site here about what you need to get started.