Filters

tugboat power

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi guys just ordered my first 35mm prime. Do i need a filter! Hate to scratch the lens, so i think so! But what one do i buy? Some are $8 some are $$$.
Cheers
Also do i buy it when i pick the lens up or go to a large department electronic store to purchase. But they only sell 2 brands

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I'll assume you're talking about the ubiquitous UV "protection filter". I'm firmly in the "I don't want anything between the sensor and the subject that doesn't need to be there" camp. I've been doing this for 30+ years and have yet to see any damage to a lens that would have been mitigated by a filter. Lens hoods have save me more than once, but filters haven't. The only lens I ever used a "protective" filter on was my old 60mm Nikkor Micro because the front element was set so far back in the barrel cleaning was a pain.

If you do decide you want to use a filter, than by the best one you can. B+W, Lee, Singh-Ray and Heliopan are among the best. Tiffen Hoya and Cokin are decent, and almost anything at a big box store is at best sub-standard. Many a photographer has banged his head trying to figure why his images are soft/fuzzy/whatever only to realize the $10 filter he's put on a $500 lens is the culprit.

Hi guys just ordered my first 35mm prime. Do i need a filter! Hate to scratch the lens, so i think so! But what one do i buy? Some are $8 some are $$$.
Cheers
Also do i buy it when i pick the lens up or go to a large department electronic store to purchase. But they only sell 2 brands