First Attempt at Night Photography C&C

Erikah672

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my first attempt at Nighttime shooting. C&C appreciated also if someone could tell me how to make a long exposer and not blow out the lights it would be appreciated, or do two photos have to be merged together to achieve that look?

1. 15 sec
5228438832_11143dc26b_b.jpg

2. 25 sec
5227840529_9052e9638a_b.jpg

3. 38.5 Sec
5227837563_3b566a98bf_b.jpg

4. 25.3
5228436998_ed22ca0d66_b.jpg

These are all really well exposed, nice work I like number 4 the best

Thanks, I was thinking alot where under exposed because of the black sky, but i guess thats what you get with Night shooting. Only thing that drives me nuts are getting the lights right :(

Thanks, I was thinking alot where under exposed because of the black sky, but i guess thats what you get with Night shooting. Only thing that drives me nuts are getting the lights right :(
the lights are as much atmospheric (mist in the air) and lens as exposure.

I have a lens that makes all the lights pretty little stars and one that they are fuzzy blobs :er:

the lights are as much atmospheric (mist in the air) and lens as exposure.

I have a lens that makes all the lights pretty little stars and one that they are fuzzy blobs :er:

Humm.... might have to look into the star one. I think they are more pleasing then bright white blobs :D

Number 3 is excellent, I love the exposure of the rocks in the foreground.