First Camera: Mirrorless or DSLR? (Or just SLR?)

whitetshirtguy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, everybody!
I'm new here, so please be patient and forgive me for any out-of-place threads and dumb questions (though as a teacher of mine used to say, there are no dumb questions, just dumb persons).

I want to get a little more serious about photography, and I don't know if I should buy a DSLR (I'm thinking maybe a Sony DSLR-A580 or a Nikon D90) or a Mirrorless camera (Sony Nex-5?).

I want to spend at most U$ 1000, but it'd be great to spend less! :)
With U$ 800 I could buy a Sony Nex-5 body with 2 lenses, and with U$ 900 I could get a Sony DSLR-A580 with one lens.

If I get the DSLR I'll take a long time to get enough money for more lenses, and when I do, this camera will probably be obsolete. Besides, I'm still a beginner, so I don't need super awesome quality, and I don't think I'll ever shoot in a studio, so portability is important, though not strictly necessary.

On the other hand, I really want to learn all about photography and to get really good at it, so some things put me off in the Nex-5, like the absence of manual exposure control and the fact that the lenses will become obsolete as soon as the camera does (I think).

So... Which do you think is a better option?

Another idea I'm considering is to get an old all mechanical film camera from ebay, like an Olympus OM 1 (< U$ 200 for a near mint one). The price is great in comparison with the digital options and it seems to me they won't become obsolete as soon (but could that be because they're already obsolete?).

Any thoughts are really appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
In my opinion you need to decide if you want to go film or digital.

If you go digital I would suggest you look on your local trader boards like Craigslist or Ebay for a used D90 (rather than the Sony), I see them in the 6-700 dollar range.