First dSlR!!

Jessticles

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi im new to this forum and this is my first post!! :mrgreen:
I am, going to be buying my first SLR cam in a week or so, primarily i want to photograph nature and wildlife but i also enjoy photograping people. I am not a professional photographer so i am not looking for anything extra special! The cameras that i am looking at currently are the canon eos range (350d up) and the olympus e510-20 as i have read amazing reviews of this camera for the type of work im interested in.
I have researched slrs for a while now, but now ive come to a hault as i dont know which camera to go and buy!

I would really appreciate youre input on this matter, wether you think either of the cameras would be more suitable or if you have any other camera in mind, i look forward to youre responses!

Thanks, Jess:D

step one - Budget budget budget ;)
we need to know how much you have to spend on this in order to advise best.
Any of the canon rebel cameras (350, 400 or 450) are good cameras for starting on and not confusing the user though I would say go for the 400 or 350 as the 450 has fewer frames per second count (as a result of larger photo sizes) which is not helpful for wildlife where many times you have to shoot like a machine gun to get shots

Most importantly though is not the body but the lens on the body - as its the lens that lets you get the shots, the body just records what the lens sees (and by extension the most important part is you the photographer)

im buying the cam here in hungary, as im here atm and i can get whichever cam i choose very cheap, so really any of the cams ive stated there i can afford. and i know ill have to dish out after for lenses, but i have looked around on some sites and will be able to get them second hand.

i have many pros and cons to both machine types and i just dont know where to go!

400d is a very good camera IMO,