First family photoshoot

raebelle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am brand new to photography and need some feedback. What can I improve? Does this even look professional?
IMG_3654.JPG
Albright grass edit .JPG

Sent from my iPhone using ThePhotoForum.com mobile app

Welcome!

In the first shot, you need more light. Even your built-in flash set to "fill" would have helped. The preferred light source would be a speedlight positioned about 5 feet or so from the camera.

In the first shot, you should frame a little tighter.

Shooting into the sun gives you a spot of flare. Is there a filter of some kind on the front of the lens?

Welcome!

In the first shot, you need more light. Even your built-in flash set to "fill" would have helped. The preferred light source would be a speedlight positioned about 5 feet or so from the camera.

In the first shot, you should frame a little tighter.

Shooting into the sun gives you a spot of flare. Is there a filter of some kind on the front of the lens?

Since I shot in raw can I just lighten it up in photoshop or would that ruin it? I did not use a filter. I have some that came with the camera. A UV filter. Would that help? I have a million pictures but only five percent the little girl was looking at the camera when I was closer. How far away from them should I be?

Sent from my iPhone using ThePhotoForum.com mobile app

Not that far away! lol Close enough to get them all in the frame with some space around them. There's too much space around the subjects in both photos, especially the first. You could try brightening it up (make copies to make adjustments on) but both look like the exposure was off.

You were facing into the sun low in the sky, and your camera's meter probably was reading that light coming in from the background. You needed to meter the scene in front of you where the people were seated.