first fashion photography shoot

flightless_beaker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm doing my first fashion shoot next weekend. I'm doing this for a friend for her senior project. I'm a bit nervous about how this is going to turn out cause I've never done anything to this magnitude before. It is in Philly. The three locations are Love Park, Market Street and the steps of Union League. I've done some research. However, does anyone have any tips from someone who is experienced in fashion shoots?

I would suggest that you run by the locations before the shoot, pick out where you would like to shoot, possible angles etc. Try and be there during the same hours of the day that you'll be shooting to see where the light falls. Watch the backgrounds, try and keep them as clean as possible, too many people consentrate on the subject but forget that the background can make of break alot of images. Where possible a shallow depth of field will help separate that subject/background. Big thing relax, if it doesn't work out exactly the way you want, you can re-shoot it, as the shoot goes on your model should start to relax a little more, you'll see it in the face. Take short breaks, have some water with you, for both of you. Makes a difference. Most of all enjoy it.

Get more lighting, one 580EX Flash is not enough for this type of work.

When we shoot fashion on location we bring at least 2 large strobes (700W/S or higher) now because you are doing this for little or no money, why not rent a set of strobes for the weekend and practice with them.

If this is not an option, spend some time with someone at each of the locations before the shoot and practice your lighting and scout for the best locations before the shoot.

In no particular order:

1) If you are posing your model(s), lots of neck. Make them stick their necks out as much as possible without looking stupid.
2) Body and limbs equidistant from the lens.