First Model shoot for a long time

TimothyPeacock

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So a long time ago I took some photos with a friend in order to practice taking photographs of people, a few years have passed and I've mainly been shooting street portraits and never working with models. It was about time I actually tried again so me and the same friend got back together for a bit of experimentation.

Here are the results, I'm very new to directing models and people within my photos, I'm more of a spontaneous shooter so you're feedback is much appreciated.

These were all taken using cheapo lights (no flash) and weren't really bright enough for me to close down the aperture, so I was really playing around with settings a lot trying to get what I could out of it. Hence some slightly dodgy looking EXIF data (to my eyes at least, but I'm no pro)

IMG_1748.jpg

EXIF: f/1.8 1/80sec ISO800

The colour cast on these is the kind of look we were going for, not some horrendous white balance problems in the camera...though I can't decide if that's what it comes across as...

IMG_1635.jpg

EXIF: f/1.8 1/120 ISO400

IMG_1600.jpg

EXIF: f/1.8 1/80 ISO400

Many thanks for looking and I'd love as much constructive criticism as you can give!

I like #1, but can you put a non photoshopped version, I think you may have overdone it a bit especially on her dress. Or maybe she's not wearing a dress and you're making them TPF friendly. Not a big fan of 2&3.

I think some separation from the background would be a big help with these. Maybe a bit of rim and hair lighting, or just a background spot.

Appears shot her straight on in #2 and #3 on and she looks huge and the pic flat. I suggest having her shift her body. Can't tell in #1, not enough light. Distracting watermark. But I'm a newB learning too my friend.