First photoshoot C&C please

Foxx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Did my first photoshoot today for a friend who missed out on getting his senior pictures done. Please hit me with everything you've got, I need improvement I know!

EDITED: Cropped right this time :lmao: Thanks for the call-out NikonME

20110803-IMG_3699-2.jpg

20110803-IMG_3699-4.jpg

Couldn't decide which one I liked better. How do you determine when b&w is appropriate?

20110803-IMG_3708.jpg

20110803-IMG_3711.jpg

20110803-IMG_3739.jpg

20110803-IMG_3740.jpg

20110803-IMG_3746.jpg

Last edited:
Why are none of them in portrait orientation?

Do they have to be?

EDIT: Yeah they do look much better oriented like that....Well this is why I'm asking for C&C :lol: I'm a complete novice!

Last edited:
They don't have to be, but they call it "Portrait" and "Landscape" orientation for a reason.

They could use fill light in the eyes. His eyes are a little dark and lack some "pop." I also agree that they should be in portrait orientation.

The hands cut off in the last two kind of bother me...my two cents.

#4 is the best of the bunch IMO, but it would work better in portrait although I don't mind the square crop

You posted way to many photos for specifics, but I see to wide a range of white balance.

The white balance is causing the skintone to vary from yellow to orange.

I prefer the color one to the B&W. I see the same things as the others with the skin tone. I am getting good at seeing what can be better in a picture - but I don't know how to fix it or keep it from happening in the first place.

Ok here are my thoughts:

#1 & #2: The guy looks like he's about to fall out of the picture. There is too much space behind his head and not enough space in front of it. Also the angle you shot from accentuates his slouched shoulders, which isn't flattering. IMO, this shot would do best as a head shot... cropped tight.