First thread, first "portraits"

Kristov

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Taking my first photography class, B&W1. This was my second time using and sort of knowing this medium. First time really trying to take portrait/people type pics. C&C is very much welcome.

This one I wish I had tilted the camera to match the door frame more. Oh well, live and learn.

Please pardon the dust, my scanner refuses to be clean. These were taken by me, developed, and printed by me as well.

The model in the lower couple is a friend of mine. She was an amazing pleasure to work with, and was very patient.

i like them but im no expert. keep the faith...you having same response as me....not much advice being dished out.....

A few thoughts:

1: Is your subject the man or the door? As the door does not suggest a specific location, profession, situation in life, I feel that it is taking up too much of the frame and not improving the image at all. Given that I see nothing special in the door, I am guessing the man is the subject. If so, I know almost nothing about him. Did you just take a picture of some random guy leaving some random building, is he waiting for something, etc? All this image does is open questions without any hint of an answer.

The composition of the image is not great either. The man's head is almost perfectly centered in the frame like a bulls eye. Try using the lines/shades on the door to compliment the man. Currently, the light part of the man's jacket is on top of the white trim. This hurts the separation between the two. Going further from that, the contrast of the man is not bad, his white shirt is properly related to his black bow tie, but the large gray door makes the image bland.