First try @ B&W any tips?

hopdaddy

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my first attempt at looking for tonal changes any tips would be helpful and as always C&C welcomed
3967297549_f64e996d33.jpg

Camera:Nikon D90Exposure:0.006 sec (1/160)Aperture:f/5.6Focal Length:18 mmISO Speed:200

works good for me because you have all those different texture...

I like it

(the subject might be a litte centered for my taste.)

Did you use any filters? The contrast on this one looks neat. I've been experimenting with a red and deep yellow filter lately.

Speaking strictly regarding tonal values I would say that this is not too bad. You've got a good range of values represented, so the resulting image has snap. There is good detail in most of the subjects that matter (clouds, trees, grass, etc.) and none of the highlights are blown out. The trees stand out from their background because they are not too close in value, and the shadow areas add a sense of depth and contrast to the whole.

- Randy

(the subject might be a litte centered for my taste.)

I didn't want the limbs (top left) off the page,thus the crop.
thanks for the comments.......can't wait to see those Halloween pix:thumbup:

Did you use any filters? The contrast on this one looks neat. I've been experimenting with a red and deep yellow filter lately.
the book I'm reading does say to use red filters,BUT, I used a polarizer

Speaking strictly regarding tonal values I would say that this is not too bad. You've got a good range of values represented, so the resulting image has snap. There is good detail in most of the subjects that matter (clouds, trees, grass, etc.) and none of the highlights are blown out. The trees stand out from their background because they are not too close in value, and the shadow areas add a sense of depth and contrast to the whole.

- Randy
Thanks for the comments.