First Winter Shots - C&C please!

florenceinitaly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone!

This is my first post in this forum, I am a newbie photographer who recently got her first dSLR and hoping to further my interest in photography!

These are some winter shots I took of a field by my house, I am hoping for some reviews, comments, criticism for them. Anything positive/negative to say about composition, color, balance and exposure of these pics please share, as its the only way I'll learn haha

p.s. is my white balance screwed up? Why do all the pictures look so blue??

22063_675865334517_122612132_40370321_4662122_n.jpg

22063_675865339507_122612132_40370322_3395642_n.jpg

22063_675865344497_122612132_40370323_4494828_n.jpg

22063_675865349487_122612132_40370324_3185056_n.jpg

22063_675865364457_122612132_40370326_2329834_n.jpg

22063_675865369447_122612132_40370327_6203090_n.jpg

They'e blue because your white balance is screwed up! lol... is it set on auto?

I like the last one.

lol yeah it's set on auto....what should it be set on then?

When taking snow scenes...should I over or under expose a bit? I find that the snow just turns out to be a white blob with no details

Set your WB to daylight, cloudy or shade. If you're shooting RAW you can easily fix it afterwards.

I believe that when shooting snow scenes you want to over expose by a stop or two because the snow will fool the meter and make your shot underexposed.

I would say that the reason that the snow looks like a big white blob is because of the time of day and the quality of the light outside.

Best thing is to go back out and try it.

I like the last shot,

Good luck.

thanks! I will try different white balance options today (going to head back out this afternoon and try again)

Could the composition of the pictures use any improvements? This is another area I want to learn more about...