flash suggestions

Trbo323

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
so its come to be that time where I should look into a nice flash, problem is Im completely new to them, I dont know what features to look for or really what kind of a price range will get me something that will work well, all i really know is id like to find something that will swivel and turn around if possible to bounce light in whatever direction i need

i am currently shooting a sony A-300 and am planning on picking up a sony A55 soon

price range, if it can be around $200 or under that would be nice but thats not a strict rule

thanks

Have you done any research on your own over the last 8 days?

Did you know Sony uses an oddball, non-standard flash unit hot shoe?

Iv been trying to do research but seeing as im new to buying a flash i have no idea what Im looking for or what half the numbers mean, hence why i came here. and yes i know sony uses their own hot shoe but im getting another sony camera as we speak so thats not going to be an issue. if it works for one of my cameras it will work for the other.

I just dont know what i should be looking for

heres the list im looking at

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?ci=643&N=4294204370+4294955916

Last edited:
Each flash unit will have a Guide Number (GN)...(given as a distance). That is the 'power' rating of the flash. The higher the GN, the more powerful the flash is.

You may not need the most powerful flash, but it's certainly nice to have the power when you do need it.

You will probably want one that works with the auto flash metering (TTL) of your camera. The non-Sony brand flashes may not work as well as the Sony models, but they probably do work well enough.

I would certainly suggest getting a model that both tilts & swivels.