Formal Training?

Do you have formal training in photography?

• Total voters

Steve5D

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
***NOTE TO MODS: My intent here is absolutely to NOT re-hash what led to the recent shut down of another thread. That thread did, however, raise a question.***

In a recently shut-down thread regarding "taste", it was suggested that we have an "obligation" to "educate" clients.

To the subject of "education", I began to wonder about formal training in photography. Do you have it? Where did you get it? How has it proven to be a benefit to you?

Personally, if Joe Albert's Beginning and Advanced Photography classes at Hauppauge High count as "formal education", then I suppose I have to say I have it. Aside from that, though, I am pretty much self-taught. Given that those two classes constitute less than one calendar year of my 51 year life, I cannot claim to being "formally trained".

As an aside, an old high school friend who actually flunked out of Joe Albert's classes all those years ago is now the team photographer for the New York Jets. I always get a kick out of that...

Last edited:
what are you counting as formal?
like, college education?
my wife worked under a wedding/portrait photographer for years (they had a studio as well), and she worked for a while in another portrait studio before we moved and she started doing her own work.

its not really "formal" education i suppose as far as getting a degree or something like that...it might still count as formal training though, depending on how you want to define it.

me however...I have learned what little I know from my wife and youtube.

EDIT: I formally acknowledge Steve5D's "note to mods" as meaning his intent (and desire) to keep this thread civil and drama free. So long as this thread stays as such, it can (and will) be left open for discussion.