From t1i to 7d or 5dMII

GrantH

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Can someone please shove an answer into my brain and tell me what body to pick?

I am an avid car show photographer, drift events, races, rolling shots, and of course random other things like street photography.

My question lies in if I should go for the 7d or 5d based on that and the fact I will be buying a 17-40 L and possibly a 50 1.4 as well. I don't take a ton of long range shots, but saving will begin once more for a ??-300 L lens directly after buying whatever I do purchase. My thoughts are swayed towards 7d based simply on the racing aspect of what I shoot/will shoot more often, and also the huge video following for the camera. I don't really shoot low light much, aside from indoors, and I have a couple flashes for those occasions. The only thing pulling the 5d towards me is the fact that it is full frame. I don't know how much I truly care for that, or need that, but it IS a function that is bound to be enjoyed. That being said...if you never use it...you never know if it is needed! The 7d is 100% viewfinder so surely I can make do with that.

Opinions? I realize it's 300 dollars on a potential 2600 dollar purchase...but it is a decent bit above the 7d. Just need some ideas/opinions.

Because of the type of photography-the sports end of it-the 7d. It has a better focus system and faster FPS. It's far more condusive to sports than the 5d2.
I've shot a little bit of sports with my 5d2 and I can honestly tell you that I hate it over the 7D for that situation. It isn't made for that kind of shooting. Slow FPS, crappy focus system that's weak on anything other than the center focus point.
You also aren't shooting night you said which is where the full frame would have the advantage in lower noise levels.